Five finalists for 2021 Jerry West shooting guard award announced

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame declared currently the 5 finalists for the 2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Yr Award. Named following Course of 1980 Corridor of Famer and 1959 NCAA Remaining Four Most Worthwhile Player Jerry West, the once-a-year honor in its seventh year recognizes the prime taking pictures guards in Division I men’s faculty basketball.

The 5 finalists for the 2021 Jerry West Award are MaCio Teague (Baylor), Joel Ayayi (Gonzaga), Quentin Grimes (Houston), Joe Wieskamp (Iowa) and Chris Duarte (Oregon).

“It is an immense honor to be viewed as a finalist for the Jerry West Award and these 5 pupil athletes have constantly contributed to the achievements of their groups at an elite amount,” stated John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Our committee surely has a tall activity in deciding this year’s winner and we are grateful to have Jerry West’s insights from a player, coach, and executive perspective.”

MARCH Insanity: See the most up-to-date NCAA match bracket predictions 

A nationwide committee of leading school basketball staff established the view record of 20 university student-athletes in November, which was narrowed to 10 candidates in January and now just five finalists. This month, the finalists will be offered to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame’s assortment committee. The winner of the 2021 Jerry West Taking pictures Guard of the Year Award will be established by a mix of enthusiast votes and input from the Basketball Corridor of Fame’s choice committee. Naismith Starting up 5 Lover Voting introduced by Dell Systems will go are living Friday, February 26 on

“While this year’s collegiate time has been largely unpredictable, the 5 finalists for the Shooting Guard of the Yr Award have been particularly constant,” stated Jerry West, Basketball Corridor of Fame Class of 1980. “I seem ahead to observing these youthful adult males compete as they continue on participating in in their most important game titles.”

Ability 36: Andy Katz has UCLA and Kansas creating major jumps in his most up-to-date rankings 

The winner of the 2021 Jerry West Award will be introduced on ESPN, along with the other 4 customers of the Men’s Naismith Beginning Five. Supplemental awards remaining introduced contain the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Julius Erving Compact Ahead Award, the Karl Malone Electric power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting 5. Further info about the award presentation, including day and time, will be unveiled in the coming months.

Past winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the 12 months Award incorporate Myles Powell, Seton Hall (2020), RJ Barrett, Duke (2019), Carsen Edwards, Purdue (2018), Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015). For extra data and the most current updates on the 2021 Jerry West Award, log onto and observe @hoophall and #WestAward on Twitter and Instagram.

You might like

About the Author: nbanews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *